It’s been a while…

It’s the start of a new school year and there are bulletin boards to be decorated, copies to be made and classroom communities to be built.  Needless to say, I’ve been very busy!  So naturally, I went out and got 14 more quail chicks…

It’s been a whirlwind here. We went on vacation for 10 days, which is a very long time to be away from all the furry friends..  We came back to a dead quail and NO egg production. That lasted for about a week and thankfully the ladies were back at it!  With the loss of two females now, we decided we might want to add a couple more to the flock. So I contacted my trusty Craigslist friend and set up a time to pick up some chicks. I was only planning on 6 MAX…

Clearly things didn’t go as planned.

I arrived on the farm and saw all the 4 week old chicks. There were 6 of them. Perfect!  They would be much less work than day olds and they would be laying in two weeks. I decided to just look at the chicks he had. After all, they are just about the cutest things you will ever see.  I peeked my head over their brooder and they scampered about chirping lightly. Rick counted them up and said, “Tell you what, you can have them ALL for ten bucks.”  And I just couldn’t pass it up..  10 dollars for 14 quail is much better than $10 for 6 and I saved them from an almost certain fate of becoming a tasty entrée. 

Consequently, we now have a whopping 28 quail on our tiny suburban homestead. Stay tuned while we figure out what we’re going to do with them all..

-Emma


Leave a Reply

