Winter is coming…

It’s a balmy 97 degrees here in St.Louis this week and who the heck is thinking of winter?!  Maybe dreaming, longingly, for colder weather, but certainly not preparing yet… It’s WAY too early for that right?  Wrong. 

As my fellow gardeners know, the time to preserve the harvest and prepare for winter is now. When the crops are abundant and the quail eggs are rolling in.  

By this time, I am knee deep in quail eggs.. We’re talking over 150 in my refrigerator right now…  I have been searching for a way to preserve them. I don’t like the idea of forcing my hens to lay in the winter and I can’t keep up right now with their production. So, I decided to give egg cubes a try. 


What the heck are egg cubes?

Eggs frozen into ice cube trays. Simple as that. 

This was probably the easiest form of preservation that I have yet to encounter. I simply cracked all the eggs into a big bowl, whisked them together and poured them in!  Done. The most tedious part was the actual egg cracking.  Those things are tiny…


Tiny quail egg yolks
Done!

I am planning on storing the egg cubes in a gallon ziploc and making more. To use the eggs, you just allow them to that over night in a bowl or cup and use them however you would use normal eggs. 

This is a great way to make sure you have eggs throughout the winter that are fresh from your backyard. I am hoping to never have to buy eggs again!

Enjoy,

-Emma

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Have you done this before? Is there any difference after defrosting, like flavor or texture of an omelette and such?

    Like

    1. emmaherrick says:

      This was my first time! I will let you know after I try them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tarnegolita says:

    Great idea!! I might do that! I am drowning in quail eggs too! The chickens are laying less, they are constantly broody and hiding their eggs…

    Like

    1. emmaherrick says:

      I really think I prefer quail to chicken. So easy to keep and I get more than enough eggs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tarnegolita says:

        I know! I’m always trying to convince people to get quail! But they can’t really see it…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

