Preserving Herbs:Freezing

Right now I have more herbs than I know what to do with. I have been looking for different ways to preserve them so I can have fresh herbs year round from my garden. I have experimented with drying before and I wanted to try a new method.

I used basil this time and I froze the basil in olive oil using ice cube trays.

Steps

1: Cut the basil. I tried to cut mine right before a new growth of leaves. You want to leave a few large leaves on the plant as this is how it will make its food and continue to grow. I have already harvested from this plant once before and it is still doing well.

2. Wash the herbs in cold water to remove any soil and insects that may be hiding.

3. Food Processor!  Once again, I am SO glad I have a food processor… It saves me so much time and pain in my hands. If you suffer from joint pain it is seriously a lifesaver!  I added about 1/4 of a cup of olive oil to the processor, but it’s really up to your preference.

4. Ice cube trays.  Once the mixture is puréed to your liking, spoon it into the ice cube trays. I added a little extra oil on top of my mixture to make a full cube. All the basil I harvested turned out to be only 4 cubes!  Just freeze the trays until you need them.

This is a great way to save herbs to use in cooking. Many recipes call for olive oil or can use olive oil as a nonstick substance. Just pop the herb cube in and watch it melt!  I can’t wait to use these in my pan cooked chicken dinners.

Before freezing

 

Follow us on Instargram for more pictures!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

