Herb Dehydrator!

I dried some herbs a few weeks ago naturally and they turned out great, but they took about a week and a half to dry.. I was looking for a more efficient way to dry them. This little guy was the answer!


Purchased off of Amazon of course!

Presto 06300 Dehydro Electric Food Dehydrator https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008H2OELY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_lTfAxbYVR0YKM

This machine was pretty inexpensive and will enable me to dry my own herbs much quicker. I can also dry fruits and vegetables and even make beef jerky!  I am really excited to try out more recipes!


I laid out all of my herbs on the removable trays. The dehydrator comes with four trays but you can purchase more. I only used two trays for my first trial. The trays stack neatly on top of one another too!  I just plugged it in and waited. Before long I had dried herbs, ready to be stored in jars for future use!  It only took 30 minutes too!

When drying herbs in a dehydrator, you want to check on them about every 10 minutes. You want them to be dry, but not have a scorched flavor.  I found it was easy to tell when they were ready. The herbs apeared darker in color and were crumbly when touched.

I would reccomebd this method of drying herbs if you need a quick supply, or if you are just impatient!  Happy herb drying!

Emma

Checkout other ways of preserving your herb harvest here!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

