Baking with Quail Eggs


You can do anything with quail eggs!  

Most people I meet have a hard time grasping the concept that you really can do ANYTHING that you do with chicken eggs with quail eggs… But really. It is possible and easy. 

We are currently up to our knees in eggs…  Our small flock of 16 produces an average of 10-15 eggs a day!  That is crazy considering we have at least 4 boys.  It is more than enough for our household of two.  We have about 78 eggs in our fridge right now..  

Time to get creative! 

I decided to try baking with the eggs tonight. I found a recipe for banana chocolate chip muffins. It called for two eggs. Obviously two quail eggs wasn’t going to cut it…  I ended up using 6 quail eggs to substitute for the two chicken eggs. Not bad!

All quail eggs are a bit different so there’s not an exact number for substitution in recipes. I just eyeballed it as I cracked them in. The rate turns out to be around 3 quail eggs for one chicken egg. 

This egg had a double yolk!


The muffins turned out great!  Just like regular muffins. You would never know the difference. 

Now you can serve them to your unsuspecting families and friends 😉

Happy baking!

Emma

3 Comments Add yours

  1. nannygrannie says:

    I had no idea, delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sofia says:

    Hi Emma,
    Thank you so much for your sharing. It is really inspirational. It makes me keen to get more quails for eggs. I have currently 3, a male and 2 babies which I am hoping will turn out to be female.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. emmaherrick says:

      Thank you Sofia! I started out with 6 and now I have 28 in my little suburban house! I just love them 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

