15 min. DIY Laundry Detergent

Want to make your own detergent but don’t have the time?

This is the recipe for you!

I have attempted making my own laundry detergent before.  That stuff is expensive!  Who wouldn’t want to save a buck or two by making their own?  It was time consuming…  and it worked well at first, but then it congealed into the consistence of a jello like substance and was disgusting..

So, being a teacher, I have summers off meaning extra time to search Pinterest for laundry detergent recipes!  I decided to try a powder this time and found this AWESOME one by Jen at Blissful55!  Her recipe made me enough to last years…  Granted, I only do about two loads of laundry a week.

Here’s her blog, check it out for more great information!  Blissful55 Blog

Laundry Detergent Recipe

I used a 5 gallon bucket to mix all my ingredients.  I started layering as Jen suggested but then got tired of it and dumped it all in…  I also tried the microwave method with the Zote and it didn’t quite work out for me.  It could have been my microwave, but it just made a huge mess…

Then, I remembered I own a food processor!!  Life is much easier with a food processor.  I love mine.  You know your an adult when a food processor is on your Christmas list..

Here’s my processor!

The materials were all pretty inexpensive to buy and I really felt like it cleaned my clothes!  I was also able to reuse both the Purex and the Oxyclean containers to reduce my waste.  I still had TONS extra after filling both those containers so I left it in my 5 gallon bucket with a lid for later.

Hopefully you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!  It was super quick to whip up and it saves money too!

Follow us on Instagram!

Follow us on Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

