Drying your own Herbs


My herb garden has been getting bigger and since I moved into the house and  I never got around to buying the standard spices. I just use fresh herbs from the backyard. I decided to test out a few small batches of dried herbs with my plants in the garden!


I cut a few small sprigs of rosemary, mint, lemon thyme and oregano. I didn’t have any twine or string available so I used an old shoelace. Why not use what you have available right?  I tied the herbs up by the stems and hung them in one of our bathrooms that was dry. It took about 3-4 days for the oregano and thyme to dry but the mint and rosemary are taking longer.


First I separated the leaves from the stems. I composted the stems and kept the leaves in the bowl. I don’t have a mortar and pestle, it’s on my list of things to get.. So I just used a bowl and a spoon to crush up the herbs.


Once the herbs were crushed I just put them in an old spice jar that I found in the Target dollar spot and I was done!


I highly recommend this method if you are a cooker, or just like to have fresh ingredients that you know have come from a good place. I know there are ways to expedite the process if you have a food dehydrator or want to use the oven.

This is a great way to store your herbs so you can use them year round!  Happy herb drying!

Follow us on Instagram!

Follow us on Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

